It was on the 12th of December, 1982, that the Executive Committee of ICOMOS decided on the foundation of an international scientific committee for the protection of historic towns, and also, that the headquarters of this committee should be in Hungary, in the historic town of Eger. The committee was given as its first task to compile the charter on the protection of historic towns as soon as possible.

How to Become a Member


  • Completion of Membership Form
  • Photograph of Applicant

Leadership: 2021-2024



Paula Cordeiro, Belgium

Vice Presidents

Antoine Bruguerolle, France

Elena Dimitrova, Bulgaria

Torsten Haak, UK

Siame-Hanna Ishac, Lebanon

Awon Rii, Korea

Secretary General

Kathleen Crowther, USA


Eman Assi, U.A.E.

Robyn Christie, Australia

Hamza Yuksel Dincer, Turkey

Said Ennahid, Morocco

Juan A. Garcia Esparza, Spain

Ofelia Sanou, Costa Rica

Pål Anders Stensson, Sweden